Best Of: June 2018 | Article by Indie Accent


Best Of: June 2018

Curator Indie Accent Team Writer Caesar Fajriansah

We're approaching the end of month, so we've curated for you a playlist that best represent this month. The songs we picked in this playlist are songs that were there for us since the beginning of this month. Whether it's an old or new songs, they never left or skipped. They might be not our favourite, perhaps at one point they are, but when they're on, we tune into it till the countdown reaches 0:00 and we couldn't justify kicking them out of our daily routine.


Sunset Rollercoaster - Angel Disco Love

Sunset Rollercoaster has released their long awaited album "Cassa Nova" earlier this year. In this album we can feel the elements of 80’s music that sounds thicker and different from their previous songs. They might finally found the formula for feel good disco-pop since their previous "Jinji Kikko" EP.

Gizpel - False 9

After a long hiatus, finally Jakarta-based electro-pop band Gizpel is back with double single called No Surrender, which contains "Your Loss" and "False 9", A protest anthem against fascism in our national football federation chairman, who just left to partake in the election contestation (and won!).

Wild Nothing - Letting Go

Wild Nothing has announced a new album called "Indigo" and it’s out August 31 via Captured Tracks. The Jack Tatum's dream pop project also shared first single from the album, “Letting Go.”

The Internet - Come Over

The Internet released the Syd-Directed video for “Come Over,” the latest visual from their upcoming album, Hive Mind. The Internet produces a downright catchy tune that emulates R&B and funk influences that will impress and resonate their fans in a heartbeat.

Binj - Highway Dancer

Back in our monthly Best of Playlist, it's Binj with a cover song of Highway Dancer. Minimalistic yet pulsing production, and a chilling vocals all combining to make one innovative piece of electro-pop song that makes them deserves more listeners.

Benjamin Schoos - All Night Every Night (ft. Dent May)

Benjamin Schoos teams up with Dent May in a single titled, "All Night Every Night". They produce a funk-centric catchy tune that emulates synth-pop influences. It's a modern day love song which showcases smooth vocals that'll envelope your head space.

King Princess - 1950

A 19 years-old, self-producing multi-instrumentalist, King Princess is the initial signee to Mark Ronson's newest label, Zelig Recordings. Her debut single "1950" dropped on February 23 and has amassed millions of plays on Spotify since.

Peter Cottontale - Forever Always

Peter CottonTale just dropped one hell of a collaboration. The producer/keyboardist unveiled a new song called "Forever Always" that features his frequent collaborator Chance The Rapper, as well as Daniel Caesar, Rex Orange County, Madison Ryann Ward, and YEBBA. It's a smooth, silky jam that with soulful vocals around an excellent verse from Chance in the middle of the track.

Unknown Mortal Orchestra - Hunnybee

New Zealand based psychedelic rock/lo-fi band, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, released "Sex & Food" album which is the follow-up of 2015's "Multi-Love". "Hunnybee", which taken from the album, is one of our favorite from the album. With sweet, Ghibli-esque music video, this song is one of best UMO's song so far.

Moodoid - Le lac d'or (feat. Melody's Echo Chamber)

Moodoïd is a French psychedelic rock band and a musical fusion project spearheaded by Pablo Padovani, the guitarist for Melody's Echo Chamber. Pablo and Melody teams up in a dope collaboration on a song, "Le lac d'or".

Hunny - Televised

This infectiously sunny indie pop is from California based group, Hunny. Taken from their EP, Windows 1, the song "Televised" is an easy listening track which emits a sunny feel that's easy to latch onto.